DUI2018-10-09T18:39:28+00:00

When you are arrested for driving under the influence (DUI), much is at risk. Attorney Mark A. Chmelewski, your Cental Washington DUI attorney, is available to help you protect your rights when facing DUI charges. Serving Kittitas (Ellensburg or Cle Elum), Yakima, Grant (Ephrata or Moses Lake), Chelan and Douglas(Wenatchee or East Wenatchee) Counties, Attorney Mark A. Chmelewski will help ensure you excellent defense.

Consequences for a Washington DUI Offense

In Washington, a DUI conviction caries severe consequences. You can lose your right to drive, endure the embarrassment of jail and be forced to pay hefty fines if you are convicted of driving under the influence. Because of the severity of these consequences, you need the assistance of a qualified, aggressive Central Washington DUI attorney.

If you are charged with a DUI in Washington State, you are most likely facing a gross misdemeanor crime. For a gross misdemeanor the maximum sentence a judge could impose is up to 364 days in jail and a $5000 fine. If this is not your first offense then the penalties could be more severe.

The State of Washington prohibits the operation of a motor vehicle by a driver that has a .08 percent or higher blood alcohol concentration (BAC). The .08 percent limit is the standard used across the United States for the “impaired” driver. The Washington State DUI law also prohibits the operation of a motor vehicle by a driver that in under the influence of a controlled substance such as marijuana, cocaine, inhalants and other intoxicants.

The first time you are arrested for drunk driving in the State of Washington you can serve a minimum of 24 hours in jail or up to 1 year. The court may allow a minimum 15 day home electronic monitoring program in lieu of jail time paid for at the convicted drivers expense. You may also be fined no less than $990.50 or up to $5,000. Your drivers license can be suspended for a minimum of 90 days and you may receive a restricted license after 30 days if the court allows. You may also be ordered to install a ignition interlock device on your vehicle at your own expense.

The second time you are arrested for a DUI in Washington State you can serve a minimum of 30 days or up to 1 year in jail and 60 days of electronic home monitoring. You can also be fined a minimum of $1,245.50 or up to $5,000. You may be ordered to install a ignition interlock device on your vehicle at your own expense.

The third time you are convicted of drunk driving in the State of Washington you will spend a minimum of 90 days in jail and 150 days of electronic home monitoring at the convicted drivers expense. You will also be fined a minimum of $2095.50 or up to $5,000 and your drivers license will be suspended for 3 years. You will be ordered to install a ignition interlock device on your vehicle at your own expense.

On top of those penalties the Court may also require probation, an evaluation and follow up treatment, all of which are paid at your own expense.

Often those who are accused of driving under the influence simply take the penalties given, assuming that they have no other option. The truth is that you can, and should protect and defend your rights. With the help of an experienced DUI attorney, like Mark A. Chmelewski, you can defend against your DUI charges, possibly avoiding the high fines and protecting your right to drive.

Attorney Mark A. Chmelewski is an experienced criminal defense attorney who has been serving Washington for over two decades. He understands that your DUI charges have an immediate impact on your daily life and the potential to haunt you for years to come, and he is dedicated to defending your rights aggressively.

Help for DUI Charges Is Just a Phone Call Away

Don’t assume that you have no recourse for your DUI charge. With the help of Mr. Chmelewski, you can create a solid defense to protect and defend your rights. Contact Attorney Mark A. Chmelewski today at 509-933-1529 for a free, confidential consultation to discuss the details of your DUI, and let him explain to you how he can help defend your rights to drive.

Regularly representing clients in Kittitas, Yakima, Grant, Chelan and Douglas Counties.

Call Now